Read the latest issue here

Natural Landscape Photography Awards announces winners

Posted on Nov 18, 2022

Winning entries in this year’s Natural Landscape Photography Awards have been announced and feature impressive imagery from around the globe

The Natural Landscape Photography Awards (NLPA) has revealed the winners of its second annual competition. Over 1,000 photographers from 55 countries entered 10,000+ images. Of these, 1,514 photos moved forward, with just 250 selected for the final round. Along with the Photographer, Project, and Photograph of the Year prizes, contestants could also submit to a range of thematic categories, including grand scenic, intimate landscapes, abstracts or details, and nine other subject-specific awards.

The NLPA aims to encourage digital and film photographers to capture realism while highlighting the wonders found in the natural world. The organisation enforces strict rules on editing to preserve each subject’s integrity, with special considerations for night photography and man-made elements. Brent Clark, this year’s NLPA Photographer of the Year, said of the criteria: “I felt like entering was to cast a vote for what I wanted to see more of in the landscape photography community – natural and inspirational imagery, grounded in reality.”

This year’s NLPA winners are listed below:

Photographer of the Year

First place: Brent Clark

Second place: Antonio Fernandez

Third place: Alfredo Mora

Project of the Year

First place: Daniel Mîrlea

Second place: Luís Afonso

Third place: David Southern

Photograph of the Year

TIE: Philipp Jakesch and Jim Lamont

Grand Scenic 

First place: Kevin Monahan

Second place: Eduardo Blanco Mendizabal

Third place: Nicolas Raspiengeas

Intimate Landscapes

First place: Spencer Cox

Second place: Eric Erlenbusch

Third place: Barbara Livieri

Abstracts or Details

First place: Mieke Boynton

Second place: Caleb Weston

Third place: James Rodewald

Special Awards

  • Aerial: Julie Kenny
  • Deserts: Peter Coskun
  • Environmental: Samuel Markham
  • Frozen Worlds: Brian Pollock
  • Mountains: Matt Jackisch
  • Nightscape: Marley Butler
  • Rivers, Lakes, and Waterfalls: Tom Shapira
  • Seascapes: Andre Donawa
  • Trees, Forest, and Woodland: Stuart McGlennon

This year’s judges included eight photographers from North America and Europe who represent a range of styles and subjects. Participants competed for a grand prize of $5,000 (Photographer of the Year) with subsequent prizes totalling $12,500 in cash, plus $12,000 in gear and $850 in subscriptions to Nature Photographers Network.

The NLPAs are organised by Tim Parkin, Matt Payne, Alex Nail and Rajesh Jyothiswaran and supported by F-Stop, FLM, and Nature Photographers Network. To learn more about the competition, read the rules, or view the gallery, visit

Don’t forget to sign up to receive our newsletter below, and get notified about the new issue, exclusive offers and competitions.

Have you heard The Photography News Podcast? Tune in for news, techniques, advice and much more! Click here to listen for free.

Pink Lady® Food Photographer of the Yea...

April 5th, 2024

The Pink Lady® Food Photographer of the Year 2024 has released its shortlist, featuring...

Enter the Earth Photo 2023 competition

March 21st, 2023

Are you a photographer or videographer with a compelling story to tell about our...

Enter: Epson Pano Awards 2023

April 27th, 2023

The 14th instalment of the Epson Pano Awards is now open. Submit your images...

Photo Video 24 Cambridge Winners

August 3rd, 2023

Back in June, Photography News held a day-long festival of imaging in the historic...

Sign up to the newsletter!

Subscribe to the Photography News newsletter to get the latest issue of the magazine, news, special offers, occasional surveys and carefully selected partner offerings delivered direct to your inbox.

You may opt-out at any time. Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy.